We are currently open to the public in limited capacity.

Staff & Board

Meet Our Board Members

Free Geek’s board is made up of a collection of community members. In keeping with our core values, members have a diverse range of skills and mission-related interests. It's the responsibility of these volunteer representatives to set and refine Free Geek’s vision. They are also tasked with making organization-wide decisions. 


Christopher Croteau, Board CHAIR

Christopher “C3” Croteau is an Executive in Residence with Intel Capital.  Christopher has 30+ years of experience in the technology industry spanning all aspects of the product lifecycle from R&D through distribution, sales and customer support.  Christopher has demonstrated leadership in developing new market segments and has led programs to ensure the industry adoption of new technologies including holding board positions on multiple industry standards bodies.

"Access to the Internet is not a luxury, it is a necessity and we cannot rest until our entire community has equal access to it." - Christopher “C3” Croteau

LinkedIn profile


kyle kasner, VICE CHAIR

Technology Infrastructure Specialist.  Previously IT Administrator for Free Geek.  Skills in computer hardware, computer repair, and Windows.

LinkedIn profile


Erich Merrill, Board Secretary

Erich was initially involved with Free Geek as a donor. For several years he brought computers and electronics before he became involved as a board member. A neighbor of the prior board chair introduced him to Free Geek, and said she was looking for a board member who could bring a lawyer's perspective to the team. Because Erich was a business lawyer, he was happy to do just that. As part of the Free Geek board, he hopes to help Free Geek continue its good work, expand its reach, increase its financial support, and continue to be a great community asset and place to work and volunteer.

Erich grew up in Memphis, Tennessee, and attended engineering school at Vanderbilt University in Nashville. Erich is a runner, and likes to ski and kayak---though not at the same time. One of his favorite past jobs was as a raft trip photographer on the Chattooga River. He kayaked through Class 3, 4, and 5 rapids every day, as his "commute" to work!

"Free Geek was one of the first to make it easy to do the right thing."

LinkedIn Profile


Ryan Harvey, treasurer

Ryan learned about Free Geek over a decade ago when a friend introduced him to Linux, the command line, and The Free Geek Store. It was then, he says, that he was introduced to the notion of being a true "owner" of a computer, rather than just a user of one.

Ryan is an institutional investment consultant with Sellwood Consulting. As Board Chair, Ryan is dedicated to making sure that Free Geek continues its digital impact and remains the unique and welcoming place that it is. When he's not spending time with his wife and two daughters, Ryan likes to put his private pilot's license to use exploring everything Oregon has to offer. He also loves to volunteer at Free Geek. 

LinkedIn profile

Margot Swanson, board member

Margot has admired Free Geek since 2009, when she began her nonprofit fundraising career as an AmeriCorps member in Portland – she remembers her AmeriCorps colleagues enthusiastically sharing with her that they could volunteer time at Free Geek in order to earn a computer! Since that time, Margot’s respect for Free Geek’s positive impact on the community, nonprofits and our environment has only grown stronger.

Now a nonprofit relationship banking officer at Columbia Bank, Margot is thrilled to have joined the board to help to advance Free Geek’s important mission.

In her free time, Margot enjoys spending time outdoors with her husband Dustin and their two misbehaved, but very cute dogs, June and Adonis, cooking and striving to stay up to date on her New York Times and New Yorker subscriptions.

LinkedIn profile



Marcus is Director of Social Equity at Cinder. He is a teacher, organizer, and catalyst for social equity across corporate, non-profit, and grassroots organizations. Marcus is also a member of Portland Workforce Alliance, TechTown PDX, SW SHRM, WO:KE PDX.

LinkedIn profile


Manu Kondapi, board member

Manu is a system validation engineer at Intel Corporation with a degree in Electrical Engineering and skills in curriculum development/teaching, Carnatic (Classical Indian) Music and web development. Manu is also involved in Portland Metro STEM Partnership.

LinkedIn profile


Donovan Lytle, Board Member

Donovan first learned of Free Geek from his neighbor, Dan, who had just taken on the role of Executive Director. His advocacy and passion for the Free Geek mission drew Donovan in. 

Donovan has been involved in higher education and higher education software for the past 25 years, first as faculty in ESL programs and currently as Senior Director Business Development for Blackboard, a global enterprise software company serving education. He’s passionate about the power of education to lift, ennoble and provide opportunity for all. As a member of the Board, he's excited to contribute to the educational mission of Free Geek and to learn from the staff and patrons who make Free Geek such a vibrant community. Donovan is currently taking a Master Class in Life taught by his first wife, two grown daughters, and three dogs. He hopes to pass.  

"Talk to a staff member about their job.  Ask a volunteer why they are here. Witness the good work that happens daily. It’s hard not to be inspired and ask yourself, “How can I help?”

LinkedIn profile

Ronda Sensenig, Board Member

LinkedIn profile

Nicole frisch, Board Member

LinkedIn profile


Meet Our Staff

Adelle Pomeroy -- Program Manager

Adrian Leon -- Online Sales Associate

Amber Schmidt -- Manager of Technology Refurbishment

Anthony Carrillo -- Technology Refurbishment Staff Member (SDA)

Ava Turner -- Technology Refurbishment Technician I 

Betsy Glickman -- Operations Manager

Brad Woods -- Technology Refurbishment Instructor and Technician

Brandon Brink -- Technology Refurbishment Instructor and Technician

Brian Manning -- Bookkeeper

Cali Avila -- Sales Shipping Associate

Charlie d'Eve -- Marketing Specialist

Chris Garrett -- Receiving and Sorting Associate

Christopher Himes -- Technology Refurbishment Staff Member (A/V)

Cliff Fortune -- Technology Refurbishment Staff Member (SDA)

Darryl Kan -- Facilities and Warehouse Associate

Durran Champie -- Receiving and Recycling Team Lead

Emily Wong -- Tech Support Associate and Digital Inclusion Program Associate

Hilary Shohoney -- Executive Director

Ingrid Santos -- Digital Inclusion Program Associate

John Ashcraft -- Chief EH&S Compliance Officer, Manager of Receiving and Recycling

John West -- Technology Refurbishment Instructor & Technician

Juan Muro JR. -- Senior Manager of Customer Experience

Julie McGowan -- Public Services Team Lead

Kai Erickson -- Technology Refurbishment Technician I 

Mads Lilja -- Receiving and Sorting Associate & Public Services Associate

Margaret Jacobsen -- Public Services Associate

Michael Perry -- Technology Refurbishment Instructor and Technician, & Technology Refurbishment Staff Member (Mobile)

Michael Westwind -- Bookkeeper

Mike Klepfer -- Receiving and Sorting Associate

Pico Mitchell -- Software IT Administrator & Technology Refurbishment Instructor and Technician/Staff Member (Mobile)

Ron Spray -- Receiving and Sorting Associate

Ryan Hebert -- Sales Associate

Savannah Stillwell --Human Resources and Administrative Associate

Stephen Couchman -- Receiving and Sorting Associate

Sterling Stoll -- Sales Associate

Tom Gilmore -- Technology Education Coordinator

Travis Karson -- Technology Refurbishment Staff Member (SDA)

Tyler Davis -- Manager of Development

Vince Winter -- Tech Support Associate

Wes Dierdorff -- IT Administrator